I Have An Illness. I Am Not Crazy…


Photo Credit: Unknown

Photo Credit: Unknown

I am a person who lives with bipolar disorder.

Does this scare you or perhaps make you think twice about the person I am?

Before you judge me based on my illness, there are some things I would like you to know.

I am not insane.

I am not acting out for attention.

I have a chemical imbalance in my brain that alters the emotions and how I feel.

I cannot control how I feel and act occasionally.

I am not violent.

I have never been involved in any crimes.

I have never hurt anyone physically.

People with bipolar disorder just want to be loved and accepted as everyone else does.

We want the same things for ourselves as others do.

We have goals.

We want to succeed.

We have many of the same interests and desires.

We are human.

How does a “label” such as bipolar disorder make us less than?

Try listening, understanding, and education first.

You may be surprised…

Bipolar is nothing like how it is portrayed in the media.

Never judge anything that is not clearly understood.

Don’t judge at all.

I have an illness…

I am not crazy.

21 responses to “I Have An Illness. I Am Not Crazy…

  1. I’m listening and learning. Thanks. It’s true that the media often gives mental disorders a bad rap.

  2. Gosh, I am a tad confused on using WP but I am not confused when it comes to all you share. Thank you so much.

  3. I am bipolar. This blog is outstanding. You should be a national spokesperson for the fair and humane treatment of people with bipolar. You could champion this cause for the rest of us.

    • Thank you so much and thank you for reading. I truly appreciate your kind words. I would love to be a spokesperson and help out, but I honestly have no idea how to get started with it. If you have any ideas please feel free to share them with me πŸ™‚

  4. hi Kait. Many thanks for following my photo blog but I’ve decided to follow you from this, my other, blog, where I might sometimes write about other people who are judged, or misjudged. It’s a great blog you have here.

  5. I love your ‘list’ of what bipolar is and isn’t. We certainly have a long ways to go towards understanding our mental conditions. Hopefully we, that is, humans, will begin putting much more money towards understanding each other rather than blowing each other apart.

Leave a Reply

